Bye Bye Social Media

The other day I deleted my Instagram and Twitter accounts. It was very refreshing. I never used them and it was about time I got rid of them.

But I’m not going to end there. For an assignment in school, I have to write and present a persuasive speech, and after much thought, I figured what better topic to discuss than the negative side effects of social media?

Now, don’t get me wrong: I don’t think social media is bad in itself. It’s mainly how people use it. But let’s be honest: most people don’t use it wisely (including myself half the time). I also feel like it’s competing with my relationship with Jesus, and I don’t want anything to get in the way of following him.

So starting tomorrow until Sunday, April 10th, I’m going to take a step away from the thrill and all-too-consuming aspects of social media. And yes, this includes my blog. I want to unplug and really discover if life’s better with or without it. I’ll be sure to post my findings when I get back.

Until then, consider taking a break yourself. Read a book, take a walk, or meet someone for lunch.

There’s a whole world out there to explore.

Leave a Reply

