Victorious

While Easter was a day to celebrate, I found myself heartbroken in the midst of it. 

On the day that I was supposed to rejoice over Christ rising from the dead, the young daughter of an amazing Christian couple passed away. When I first heard the news, I was shocked, because for months I had been praying and believed God would heal Tori. However, as Lesa and Brennan displayed a tremendous amount of faith and peace in the midst of suffering, I realized God was faithful.

God is good.

~*~

When I was younger, I got a small journal from my mom. It was, and still is, one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever laid eyes on. The rich design and texture makes it look like a book you’d find in some faraway castle, and for some reason I never wrote in it because I wanted to save it for something important. It was not until July of last year that God called me to write in it.

It became my prayer book.

At first I wrote and prayed earnestly for God to heal my eyes. I was so sure he’d do it. But as I kept praying, I began to feel God heal my spiritual vision, and then it hit me:

What kind of testimony would I live if I told people, “yeah, I prayed for my eyes to be healed, which isn’t really needed, but God finally healed me,” while others suffered around me? It just seemed ridiculous. So I began to pray for Lesa and Brennan’s daughter, Victoria, and prayed scripture over her everyday.

Back in September, I prayed this verse:

“Though Tori walks through the valley of the shadow of death, she will fear no evil; for you are with her.” – Psalm 23:4

Looking back now, I find this verse to be very comforting. Though she may have passed away from this life—she may have walked under the shadow of death—there’s no fear because she’s with Jesus now. And Jesus is the Resurrection and the Life.

And to that, I dare to ask:

“O death, where is your victory?

O death, where is your sting?”

~*~

May God bless you, Lesa and Brennan, for being faithful, loving, and selfless, and may he continue to give you rest and peace over this next season in your life. I love you, guys! You’re an inspiration to us all.

One thought on “Victorious”

Leave a Reply

