God Provides All That We Need

“But giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors me. If you keep to my path, I will reveal to you the salvation of God.” – Psalm 50:23

I love reading the Bible, but sometimes the Old Testament can be down-right confusing. There’s so much talk about sacrifices and how to kill the animals and what rules to follow and what weird rules to follow that it becomes easy to miss how Jesus fits into the picture.

But then there are verses like Psalm 50:23 where we get a beautiful glimpse into God’s heart and what he truly desires from us.

Thankfulness. Contentment.

Guess what, though?

Here’s a confession: I’ve been terribly discontent in the past few weeks. And while I have valid excuses to some of these feelings, I think it hardly matters. From God’s perspective (and hey, even from an objective perspective), the goodness in my life completely outweighs all the bad stuff going on. I have it good. I don’t mean to boast here, but I have food every day, too much clothing to count, education, a loving family, a loving God, and amazing friends.

Yet I chose to focus on the small setbacks scattered throughout this wonderful journey called life.

Well, I’m here to repent of that. Last night when my church gathered outside of my backyard to pray for whoever wanted an increase in faith and hope that only Jesus provides, I just about dived into the center. I desperately needed that, and let me tell you, it was so refreshing. More than anything, a spirit of contentment just washed over me and all my pride and anger melted away.

Jesus is so good.

 

2 thoughts on “God Provides All That We Need”

Leave a Reply

