Bunnies and Thoughts On Creativity

Yeah, yeah, I know I didn’t post yesterday. I think I’m the only one that really cares, but I was attacked by a bear, and well, when you’re attacked by a bear, you don’t really have time to write a blog post.

What kind of bear was it, you ask? Grizzly? Black bear? I should have clarified: bear is an acronym and operation that stands for:

Busy

Employing

Amazing

Rabbits

Surprise. I’m starting my own Easter Bunny company.

In all seriousness, though, yesterday was one of those days that I just wanted to absorb what was happening and not have to produce or capture anything for the sake of it. In other words, I pulled a Sean O’Connell. (If you don’t get the reference, watch The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. It’s amazing.)

1dbc637bb85cd5274e0a58679081cf42

I think in this age that relentlessly urges us to capture everything, we tend to forget about everything. This echoes the words of the lead singer of Switchfoot, John Foreman, who once said “recording is the art of forgetting.”

Now, this idea might seem to contradict the purpose of my blog, but I think there’s a fine line between producing and recording. Sometimes this line can be blurred and my writing can come across as simply recording instead of producing, but my overall goal is to produce and create meaningful content.

Days like today and yesterday help remind me of that—and hopefully it can remind you, too, to absorb what goes on in life and use it to create something meaningful yourself.

One thought on “Bunnies and Thoughts On Creativity”

  1. Man, there is so much truth here. We’re so connected socially with other people through our technology and caring about what other people think that it is so easy to miss the present moment, which is the greatest part of our journey. We forget to just take a breath and allow ourselves to live and seek out the current beauty in our sitation. It takes courage to go MIA for a day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

