Featured Blogger: Markie Myers (Part 1)

On Christmas I announced the dawn of the Iron Community—a group of bloggers who sharpen each other in order to grow as writers and people. If you’d like to join, feel free to fill out the application here. Today I’ll be featuring a member of the community: Markie Myers. She’s a good friend of mine, an excellent writer, and I highly recommend reading her blog if you want to gain insight on life, God, and his amazing love for you. Check it out here.

1. Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

My blog is a place for me to express myself and my heart for life and for God. I believe in living life in a way that’s completely different from the world around you, but I also share in the fact that I am only human, and that I do often make mistakes and am in no way perfect. I pursue Jesus with all of my heart, and seeking after his kingdom and having a relationship with him is my number one desire. I love sharing my heart with other people, and I long to help and encourage the people who come to my blog… I know that one of the biggest ways God speaks through me is through my writing, and he’s given me an unquenchable passion for it.

2. What inspired you to start your blog?

I remember the day I started my blog, actually. It was a cool, rainy Saturday evening, and I walked outside and all of the sudden I was overwhelmed with this need to just write and express exactly what my heart was feeling that day. I needed the world to hear me; to hear my thoughts, my dreams, my ideas, my needs… I wanted to put it out there, and even more so I wanted to draw people to me who shared those common desires. I asked God what he wanted me to do with it, and this is what became of that evening!

3. Describe how you first got into blogging?

I actually began blogging when I was around twelve years old. It began on my favorite website EVER: a magical place called “Wattpad”, and I realized that I could share my writing without anyone really knowing it was me. I began with writing stories, and two years after that I began to feel much more comfortable with myself when I wrote about my life and how I saw the world. From there, I started a couple of blogs throughout the years, but was never really serious about it until these last couple of years. My most serious blog before this one was my heart on nutrition, health, and wholeness as a young woman of God, but I found myself desiring to draw my focus to just my life in general with God versus health and food. And thus, Sometimes Lost Always Loved was born.

~*~

 

Stay tuned for part 2 of the interview tomorrow!

One thought on “Featured Blogger: Markie Myers (Part 1)”

Leave a Reply

