My School and The Government: A Not So Great Love Story

For those of you who don’t know, I go to an online high school with real students spread across the state of Pennsylvania. It’s quite unconventional.

Then again, this is Unconventional Speculations, so nothing should be new here.

We students rarely see each other, but we decided to plan a rather last minute Christmas party that kind of turned into a “let’s eat at this random, nice diner and spread Christmas cheer for all to hear.”

It was a lot of fun. I had the opportunity to see some of my best friends and eat a delicious burger.

Our ad-filled dinner mat even had an add for our school. We were absolutely enamored by that fact.

Here’s a slight problem, though:

A lot of people don’t understand cyber charter schools. They think they’re unproductive, a waste of time, or a money-eating monster. And while cyber and charter schools aren’t the best (just like every school out there), they still have immense benefits.

I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for my school, Pennsylvania Leadership Charter School (or PALCS for short).

I’ve met so many great people, been on so many great trips, and grown as a leader. My school allowed me to go to China, twice. What average public school provides those kind of opportunities for such reasonable prices?

Either way, though, it’s not a matter of whether public schools are better or worse than cyber charters school. The problem is that we deserve to choose our education, and the government has no right to shut us down and hinder our future just because we’re different.

Right now bills are being put together to cut funds drastically from my school and many others in the state.

I would hate for this to happen.

Now, I’m no expert on the matter, but you can find more information out on this website. If you want to help, you can click on the red box that says “Save PA Charter Schools!”

Also, if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to comment below or reach out to me on my contact page!

I know this school isn’t perfect, but it’ll never get better if it keeps losing money. I still have hope for it, and I hope others do as well.

Leave a Reply

