Obedience trumps good motives

You might have noticed I didn’t post last night.

About that…

So I learned something valuable last night. God’s been teaching me this for a while now, but I think it really hit home yesterday. And it’s this:

Having good motives isn’t enough.

You can have the most purest, most finest, most genuine, and even the most selfless motives possible, but if it’s not what God wants you to do at that moment, obedience trumps motives.

Let that sink in.

Obedience trumps motives.

I recently read the story of Uzzah (2 Samuel 6:1-8), and I was a little shocked that God just killed the dude for helping out when the Ark of God was about to fall. But when you think about it, even though Uzzah probably had good intentions, God clearly instructed the Israelites not to touch it. But he did. And honestly, as powerful as God is, it goes to show how Uzzah probably didn’t trust God to handle the Ark and make sure it didn’t fall. He lacked trust.

Yesterday, I lacked trust. I went head-on into a conversation I didn’t need to have with someone. I really did have good intentions; I loved the person and wanted to see them grow as a man and live their life to the fullest. But my intentions were clouded with a lack of trust in God, and I didn’t rely on his love and life that only he could provide.

I learned my lesson, though, because I neglected to post and didn’t get a lot of sleep. I don’t recommend that.

But I’m moving on, and I’m learning to trust God more every day and obey him no matter what. Because sometimes love looks like obedience; it’s a beautiful trust that knows that what God has planned is a whole lot better than what I have planned.

“If you love me, obey my commandments.” – Jesus (John 14:15)

It’s not legalistic. It’s trust. It’s love.

2 thoughts on “Obedience trumps good motives”

Leave a Reply

