Following Jesus

Well, it’s Monday, and by jolly, I almost forgot to post. I really missed posting, though (I promise), and I believe I’ll go back to my regularly scheduled blog posts next week. Yup, that’s right! I’ll go back to daily posts. 

You see, all I needed was some time to refocus myself and understand what I was doing. I kept talking but not doing, and now that I’m doing more, I think it’s worth writing about.

So with that being said, one thing I’ve been working on lately is pursuing and following Jesus, and not my own rules and limitations. For example, I wanted to get up early, but I kept hitting the snooze button and never getting up. I wanted to get up to spend time with God, but I was always tired in the morning.

I got frustrated very quickly when I realized how many days I kept not getting up early.

But then something clicked; I guess you could call it a revelation. God spoke to me and said, “follow my Son, not your rules.” 

And then it all made sense. Basically, I kept fighting against myself, and instead of leaning on God, or more so Jesus, as the center of my Christian life, I kept leaning on my own ability to wake up and get up.

The solution was so simple, though. All I needed to do was follow Jesus; I needed to be his follower and disciple. And I needed to do it instead of just saying it.

So I did. I woke up early because in the Bible he got up early to spend time with his Father. It’s that simple. I’m not doing it because I need to, I’m doing it because I want to and I do what I see Jesus did. And Jesus did what he saw the Father do.

So the next time you’re trying to be good because it’s good, think about your motives. And instead of following the rules just because they’re the rules, follow the Author of the rules and you’ll understand them so much more.

See you next Monday.

One thought on “Following Jesus”

Leave a Reply

