I’m With You

I think one of the biggest misconceptions people have about God is that he’s far away in his blissful heaven and doesn’t know a clue about what it’s like to suffer on earth. He doesn’t know pain. And therefore, he can’t relate to us.

But that’s when the truth shatters these lies.

The fact is, Jesus is the visible image of the invisible God (Colossians 1:15), and he suffered immensely.

  1. He suffered physically by being beaten to the brink of death, nailed to two wood planks in the shape of a cross, and left to hang on it until he died.
  2. He suffered emotionally by having his closest followers [family, practically (Matthew 12:49)] abandon him when he was betrayed, and even deny that they knew him (John 18:15-27). Talk about pain.
  3. He suffered spiritually by bearing the sins of the world upon his shoulders on the cross and then having his own Father turn away from him because of it (Matthew 27:46).

As you can see, Jesus did suffer, and it brings me hope to know that whenever I’m suffering, I know that God may not make it disappear all of the sudden, but he will be right by my side as I go through it, whispering all along the way, “I’m with you, and I know what it’s like.”

Leave a Reply

