What I write on my blog

Someone asked me earlier today what I write about on my blog. They said, “do you just write about your day and what you do?” I couldn’t help but smirk at a question like that, yet I realized I tended to get them often, and it made me wonder:

Is that all people think a daily blog is? My daily routine?

Obviously if I’m doing something I think is worth mentioning, I’ll mention it, but otherwise I’m not going to bore myself or you, the reader, with random updates on what I do each day.

Writing a blog is so much more than that. To me, it’s the emotions behind the every-day, mundane activities we live through. I like to write about why things happen, not how they happen. And frankly, I think that’s a lot more entertaining than just saying what I ate for breakfast. (Which, by the way, was a delicious portion of peanut butter pop tarts. I know, my mouth’s salivating, too.)

I write to show, not to tell.

Leave a Reply

