The Art of Altruism: 1

One day I sat pondering about the depths of life (translation: I was probably playing Minecraft) and realized that the key to success was found in altruism. In other words, to find success meant that I had to let go of myself.

The more I thought about myself, the more my world became hectic and full of misery. Most of my problems, too, were formed out of selfish ambitions. The only way to fix this would be to think of myself less.

Now note, this doesn’t mean to belittle myself and think I’m a nobody. To the contrary, it simply meant to not think about myself a lot. C. S. Lewis said it best:

“True humility is not thinking less of yourself; it is thinking of yourself less.”

Make sense? I hope so.

If it’s still not making sense, let’s look at one of the greatest examples of a selfless man found in history.

His name was Jesus.

“Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When he appeared in human form, he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross.” – Philipians 2:6-8

Wow. I could write a whole book on that passage alone, and if I had to describe Jesus with one word, I would say he lived and breathed “selflessness.”

But our world today barely encompasses this character. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. In a culture that feeds and glorifies the self, and as a disciple of Christ, I have to fight this. 

A while ago (and by a while ago, I mean about a year ago), God put it on my heart to start a blog about selflessness. Guess what? I didn’t do it. And guess what’s to blame? My selfishness—didn’t have time. didn’t know what to do. Instead of trusting God to help me start it, I lapsed into my own fears and failures.

So now here we are, a year later, and I still haven’t started this blog.

Well I think that’s about to change.

Leave a Reply

