Take a step back

I think we’re under some illusion that if we keep consuming whatever life throws at us, we’ll grow. Even if our schedules get stacked to the brim, we’ll make time for everything and as a result do nothing worth our time.

But the fact is, we can’t penetrate deeply into the riches of life if we’re spread out so wide and so thin. Sure, we’ll look like we’re a well-rounded person on Facebook and maybe make our friends envious, but it’ll be fake. Deep down, we’ll always be wondering if there’s more to this busy, chaotic life.

And, well, frankly there is more to it.

Take a step back and see what will happen. Let go of one thing you love, and see if you really loved it in the first place. Don’t do it for the sake of doing it; do it so you can set your priorities straight. Do it so you can find what you really love.

Now, I know sometimes my words can be vague, so let me give you an example. I for one love drawing. I drew a lot when I was little, and I occasionally like to draw every now and then. But here’s the thing: I don’t do it a lot now. Even though I like it, I’m not committed to it because I’ve focused my time more on things like writing or playing music.

You see, I think our culture tells us that whatever we like to do, we should do it. And while on the surface that’s good, I don’t think we realize how much we actually like to do. In our blissful, wealthy lives, we think we have enough time to do everything, and therefore become busy, not having time for relationships or community that, without them, make us feel lonely and disconnected.

We can’t do it all. Our culture is a consumerist culture that wants us to consume everything. It tries to make us believe that we need every product on the shelf. But we don’t. We never did, and we never will. 

What we need is genuine love. What we need is for people to look outside and realize there are so many disconnected people like themselves yearning for authentic relationships. What we need is a life of rhythm that says busyness is chaos, and doing a few things we love a lot is better than doing a lot of things we love only a little.

I want to live that kind of life. What about you?

Leave a Reply

