Taste and See

There was chaos all around me, so I cried out to God and asked him what I should do or what he would do. 

This is what he said:

“Watch and see.”

At first I was taken aback by this, because to me watching and seeing didn’t seem like doing much. It meant that I wasn’t actually changing things, but instead watching things change out of my control. 

That’s scary—not being able to control or solve a problem.

But then that made me realize: God’s in control. So when I’m not in control of a situation, all he asks of me to do is to see what he’ll do. It means that I can rest in assurance that he’s got it handled.

And now I don’t have to worry about his job, his mail. Because he’s given me my own job, my own mail, and therefore I’m going to focus on that. I’m going to focus on my vision and what I look for and what I see. 

First I must watch for what he is doing, and then I’ll see it. I’ll look through the haze, searching back and forth, and in the fog I will find clarity; I will find him moving. Then my eyes will follow his movement, wherever that leads.

Because I know one thing for sure: I’ve tasted and seen that the Lord, my God, is good! And I am blessed for taking refuge and trusting in him. (Psalm 34:8)

2 thoughts on “Taste and See”

Leave a Reply

