He Listens

I love the Lord because he hears my voice and my prayer for mercy. Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I breathe! (Psalm 116:1-2)

God hears my prayers. Beforehand, I chose to walk away from God, to run after myself. It was called sin, and sin blocked my communication with God. But when I cried out for mercy and forgiveness through Jesus’ sacrifice, it was by Jesus’ wounds that I was healed and restored. (Isaiah 53:5) He heard my prayers, forgave me, and ushered me into who I really am- a child of God. A child who has so much faith and trust in his father that nothing seems impossible.

The Lord protects those of childlike-faith. (Psalm 116:4)

All I have to do now is trust my father! All I have to do is lean on him. It doesn’t have to always make sense—all I need to understand is the foundation, the relationship. I need to know who he is so that I can trust him more. Because sometimes he asks me to do things that go beyond myself, and if I don’t know him, how can I trust that what he’s asking is something I can follow through with?

If I try and take the shortcut, trying to simply understand him and know all about him, I’ll be locked away in confusion still unsure why he does all that he does.

I’m left with simply one task: to love him and know him personally, to trust him as a child because he is my father. I will draw near to him, and he will draw near to me. (James 4:8)

Therefore, if I have any problems, I will run to my father and ask for his help. One such thing that I am asking for is his healing for my eyes. For all of my life, my eyes have had problems, and while they are not major issues in the sense that I’m going blind, they are still problematic. It’s hard to see.

I’ve asked God for healing before, prayed for healing once or twice in a year. Nothing’s happened. Then I stopped praying for it altogether, because I was afraid that it would just be like all the other times—nothing would happen.

Then I realized something: I was being shortsighted. I was only looking for immediate, quick results. And while God does sometimes heal people instantly, there are also occasions where it takes many years of prayer and faith. 

I’m willing to take a step out and believe for healing in the long run. I’m willing to spiritually look far again so that someday I can physically do the same.

And I’m doing it so that God can be praised, because when I keep on asking, he will give what I ask for. (Matthew 7:7)

I’m done being like the dad in Mark 9:14-29, who says “help us, if you can,” to Jesus. 

Because you know what Jesus said after that? He said, “What do you mean, ‘If I can?’ Anything is possible if a person believes.”

He then healed a boy, casting out a demon that prevented the child from hearing or speaking. Jesus told his disciples that “this kind can only be cast out by prayer.”

Prayer is powerful, and I’m going to take advantage of it. Because he bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I breathe!

Leave a Reply

