Being with Jesus

As I was working today, I had a thought about my life. Much of it has been easy compared to the harsh realities of others, but I feel something’s off. Remember how yesterday I mentioned how God speaks when I have nothing to say? Well, this idea expands. It applies to my whole life, and probably yours too.

Are you wanting to see God move? Are you yearning for him to do something incredible in your life?

Then put yourself in a situation where only he can do it.

Of course, don’t jump to the dumb conclusion that I’m saying hang off the edge of a cliff and scream for him to help. What I’m really getting at, though, is that we should take more risks. If I’m good at something because I’ve practiced it all my life, people aren’t going to look at me and be like, “Wow, God’s great!” To the contrary, when I do something risky for the Kingdom, or something I’ve never done before even though God wants me to do it, people will notice and scratch their heads in wonder.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Acts 4:13, which says:

The members of the council were amazed when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, for they could see that they were ordinary men with no special training in the Scriptures. They also recognized them as men who had been with Jesus.

I gotta say, I just love this verse. I find it quite humorous actually. They first notice how amazing Peter and John were even though they were ordinary men. And, oh! These guys were with Jesus! Coincidence? I think not.

You see, when you hang around Jesus, you’ll start to do things that only he could do through you. And when that happens, he’ll get the credit, but you’ll be living the most fulfilling life possible. You’ll see amazing things.

I want to see amazing things.

One thought on “Being with Jesus”

Leave a Reply

