Living life on purpose

Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. (Ephesians 5:17)

This is what I needed to hear. This is what I needed to do.

When I was a sinner, I thought like a sinner; I thought without purpose. But now I’ve been saved by grace and am no longer tied to the deadly consequences of sin or sin itself. When grace came to my door, sin shuddered and ran out the back door, practically knocking the door off its hinges and foundations. It crumbled me, but grace raised me back up. And now that I’m fully submerged into God’s promises, I can’t help but want to move past frivolous thoughts. I don’t want the status quo. 

Yet sometimes my heart can be so stubborn. My mind accepts things more easily; my habits keep me from teetering. But this heart! My heart wanders from time to time because it hasn’t fully understood what it’s doing. It’s changing. It’s opened it’s doors wide open for God to move right in, right out, right about. God’s engulfing my heart—-a much more satisfying depiction of his power and love than my power and love. Because even though I may have “accepted him into my heart,” it was he who first accepted me into his. It was his love that drew me near, and may I never forget it!

I want to experience more of this love; don’t you? I want this love to really become my purpose. The kind of purpose that seeps through each and every conversation, each and every deed, each and every choice. 

This purpose is my horizon. It is my goal. Jesus wakes me up in the morning. He is the reason I choose the hard path. He is the reason that I talk to you. I don’t want to be nice because it’s nice. I want to be nice because God was more than nice to me, and I want you to experience that joy as well.

Jesus is my purpose.

Leave a Reply

